Early Bird Gets the Worm… Or a rather exhausted child

20120427-213614.jpg

So if any of you have talked with me since I started planning this trip, you probably know how excited I was to do the Sunrise Safari. For those of you whom I haven’t already told, it is a safari only offered to Animal Kingdom Lodge guests. Since we have never stayed at AKL, I was excited for this opportunity. Well, I did a lot of research on it and even submitted a question to

the Disney Mom’s Panel to make sure Carson would be up to it. In a nutshell, the research said it lasted 45-1 hour (definitely doable) and that kids who loved animals would love it (definitely my son)…. Well, he definitely was NOT up for it. It was more like a 2 1/2 hour adventure by the time we were done. We had to check-in by 7 am, then we got on a bus to Animal Kingdom at 7:30. By the time we went through security and got on the safari bus it was 8:15. While it was cool to see the animals more, I’m not sure I would recommend it to anyone with children younger than 5. There was a very nice breakfast buffet after the safari that we all (especially Carson) enjoyed, but all in all it was a bust.

Since we were already at Animal Kingdom, we went to see some characters. Carson loves giving the characters a hug, so that is how we spend a lot of time.

20120427-215040.jpg

Since we were up at 6 am, Carson didn’t last very long and by 11:30 we were back to the room for a nap. So, while I was super excited about the “special” safari, the end result was an exhausted child.

Published by

thisthatandthelittleman

Mother of a two year old little boy, who teaches me new things everyday.

Leave a Reply

